Main menu:

Subpages for 3rd Degree Members:

About

FRONTENAC COUNCIL 728-The Mother of Councils in the archdiocese of Kingston Council 728 was chartered in 1903 becoming the 3rd Council in Ontario.
In September of 1903 a group of the leading Catholic Laymen of Kingston gathered at 235 Brock Street to select Officers for a new Council. They chose a young lawyer Timothy J Rigney as their first Grand Knight. Timothy Rigney later became a State Deputy, a mayor of Kingston and served many years as Kingston Crown Attorney.
In 1904 the KofC grew with a council starting up in Belleville; followed by one in Brockville in 1905.In Kingston in 1979 some members started Archbishop J.A. O’Sullivan at our Lady of Lourdes being the first of many parish-centred councils that broke away from Council 728.
Frontenac Council 728 has met in numerous locations in the city’s central core over the years finally moving in 2002 to St Mary’s Parish Centre almost across from the original meeting place.
Over the past 100 years the Council has contribute much to the community. Note worthy was the establishment in the early 60’s of a Youth Camp called Scofield and the formation of a Clown Troupe to bring a smile to seniors and youth. A enduring legacy was the establishment of the KofC Basketball League which flourishes to this day.